Blog archive for April 2014

Piolets d'Or 2014

23 April 2014
Read the article

The Piolets d'Or 2014 mountaineering awards were announced at a ceremony in Courmayeur on 29 March. The winning climbs were the first ascent of K6 West (Karakoram, Pakistan) by Raphael Slawinsky and Ian Welsted, and the first ascent, solo, of the South Face Direct on Annapurna (Himalaya, Nepal) by Ueli Steck.

Stephane Benoist and Yannick Graziani received a special mention from the jury for their repeat of the South Face Direct of Annapurna shortly after Steck's ascent.

A Lifetime Achievement award was given to US climber John Roskelley. His climbs include the first ascent of Great Trango in 1977, the first ascent of Uli Biaho Tower in 1979 and new routes on Nanda Devi and K2.